PennVet (OOS) vs. UGA (OOS)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PastelEl42

Reaction score
Hi all! I have been struggling quite a bit with my decision, and I think I have finally narrowed it down to two choices, but I'd love some advice. I'm an OOS student from CT, and I'm interested in small animal and shelter med.
I was almost certain I would choose PennVet at first. I loved the curriculum, 2 full years of clinics, shelter medicine and community medicine offerings, etc. But after touring, I really didn't like the campus. It was partly driving down city streets and getting a feel of how difficult it would be to bring my car and park. And while most of campus was very pretty, outside of the UPenn area I just didn't like the vibes. The anatomy lab and Ryan vet hospital seemed a bit dark and old, which probably means nothing in terms of quality medicine, but I just didn't like being there?
Originally I wasn't giving UGA much serious thought, but after visiting Philly, I realized the Athens area might be a good fit for me. It's drivable and there is a great music and arts scene. I heard from some of those at the admitted students day that they're really pushing health and wellness (sounds like Penn is trying to get better about mental health, but I'm not sure what exactly they're doing), and that the new curriculum has a huge emphasis on clinical skills. The teaching hospital is super shiny and new, and while that may not mean better medicine, I could definitely see myself being happier spending hours on end there during clinical rotations. And all of this is not to mention tuition, as UGA would be about $100k cheaper. Theoretically I am fortunate enough to have the financial support to go to either school, but obviously if I go to a cheaper school my family won't have to contribute as much and loans will be much smaller.