(P5) I feel like I'm in the wrong field

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

methaqualone

Reaction score
First post on the forum, sorry if this type of post isn't allowed

I'm a fifth year student, I start my APPE rotations in May. I work part-time as an intern. This is my last semester of didactic courses. I honestly feel like I'm in the wrong field.

To be frank, I decided to enroll in pharmacy school for financial stability (I know a lot of people think this is a very stupid idea, I'm well-aware of this position already, please don't bring it up). I come from a family of pharmacists and this always just seemed as a sort of "default" career path for me. I'm not particularly interested in pharmacy from an academic or career perspective. I don't feel that I'm near knowledgeable enough at this point in time that I should be, and I'm not even good at my job (too slow, not picking things up easily, etc.). TL;DR I'm not suited for pharmacy or even really interested in it.

The problem now is that I'm pretty sure that I'm basically stuck. I'm too far into the program to back out now; if I switched major or something I wouldn't have a degree, just credits, which I wouldn't even know what to do with at this point. Assuming I just slog through this next year and somehow manage to graduate through sheer dumb luck, which has apparently served me well so far, I feel like my future professional prospects are just going to be miserable. I work in a field I'm not passionate in or even good at for 40+ years and then retire, maybe. I'm fully aware other people have far more pressing concerns and this is basically a first world problem, but I'm not really sure where else I would be able to vent or get some advice about this. What thoughts do you guys have? Thanks for putting up with me up to now.

Members don't see this ad.

• Sad
  • Care
Reactions: 2 users
What DO you want to do?