Overcoming a low GPA -- I feel like I have many options but I'm not sure which is most effective

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SkinnyJoshPeck

Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional candidate, I'm looking at getting back into the race but I have some areas I'd like to round out and compensate for.

I'm a decent candidate with a Math degree. Some genetics research along side research in mathematical models of cancer and some pure math research (both would be solid, respectable LORs), (Super) low end of the acceptable GPA (3.2) with a super strong upward trend (last 60+ credits has been a 3.9; I was diagnosed and medicated for a mental illness), a repeat class (Physics), lots of leadership, solid ECs and volunteering (at a free clinic). Only person in my family's history to have a Bachelor's degree. Ever. Grew up in poverty with a single mother. You get the picture.

When I graduated 2 years ago, I had a 6-figure job thrust in my face doing Machine Learning at a solid company and I took that job. Medical School is a commitment and I was discouraged due to my GPA. Additionally, I hadn't done the MCAT so why not take a break and get some cash. Long story short -- I took that break and now I'm sure I want to do medical school.