Optometry Experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the Undergrad

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm a pre-opt student, looking into applying to Opt schools for Fall 2007. However I have not exactly had much experience with shadowing an optometrist. I start volunteering next week. However, I'd surely like to hear some feedback/input from those of you who've shadowed an optometrist.

Such as, what else do optometrists do besides spinning dials, and asking for a better number or clearer alphabet. I mean, these are types of things any layman knows about the field of optometry. What I am interested is what actually goes on in an optometrists' office/clinic once the patient has left. Basically, I'm really interested in finding out about daily day-to-day practices of optometrists. Any other useful sites/links will be great.

Thanks! And looking forward to hearing some interesting experiences.

Members don't see this ad.

Try to visit an optometrist who specializes in vision therapy!