OMT focus in EM/IM programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SuperHero

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year DO student looking to into EM/IM. During this year I have found a new appreciation for OMT and its clinical effectiveness. I would like to possibly attend an EM/IM residency program which shows some emphasis on OMT. Now obviously that will only happen with an osteopathic programs, which I have looked into, but I don't know exactly how much manipulation is actually taught at these various osteopathic program.
Is it worth me attending an osteopathic program for the maniputation that is taught, or lack there of, or should I just pursue an allopathic program (which right now my number 1 choice is one) and then keep that skill up on my own.
Any insight would be appreciated, THANKs!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 3rd year DO student looking to into EM/IM. During this year I have found a new appreciation for OMT and its clinical effectiveness. I would like to possibly attend an EM/IM residency program which shows some emphasis on OMT. Now obviously that will only happen with an osteopathic programs, which I have looked into, but I don't know exactly how much manipulation is actually taught at these various osteopathic program.
Is it worth me attending an osteopathic program for the maniputation that is taught, or lack there of, or should I just pursue an allopathic program (which right now my number 1 choice is one) and then keep that skill up on my own.