OAT Breakdown (400 TS, 380 AA)

Toa Taro

Reaction score
(EXTREMELY LONG POST INCOMING)

So I took the OAT last week and I was very happy with my score so I just wanted to write a breakdown to help any future OAT writers! I studied over a span of 3 and 1/2 months while I was working at an optometry clinic for 4 days a week. Because of this, I barely studied on the days that I worked (1-2 hours) and even when I did study on my days off, I felt like I wasn't studying efficiently. However, I was still able to succeed! One disclaimer though is that I wrote the MCAT in the past and that likely attributed to me doing well on the OAT since I was able to remember some science concepts a bit more easily (honestly though, I feel like I didn't remember much from the the mcat and it only helped with improving my reading speed lol).

Study materials

Kaplan Book/Practice Bank: 6.5/10

So I originally bought the Kaplan book with the practice bank because it was one of the cheapest options for OAT prep and I had also used Kaplan for MCAT prep. For the first month and a half, I just read through the book and made notes as I was going along. I did feel like that was helpful but looking back, it was likely a waste of time. Going through the book definitely helped me to "internalize" some concepts but converting the info from the book into notes was just too time consuming. Additionally, the practice bank was lowkey doo-doo. The questions were a lot harder than the actual exam and trying to go through the practice bank was very discouraging. After trying to use Kaplan for the first 2 months of my studying I finally decided to switch over after I got a 310 on Kaplan test 1 lol.

OAT Booster: 9.5/10