Status
Not open for further replies.

lord999

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks so much for providing this service.

Some background on me: I’m almost 30 and seriously thinking of applying to medical school within the next couple of years. I have an undergraduate and master's degree in public health and have had a successful career in the field, working as an epidemiologist for state government, as a research assistant for bench and clinical science, and now as the director of an educational institute. I have one published research paper where I'm the primary author and 2 others where I'm further down the list. I have presented at conferences and worked closely with nurses and doctors, including CDC personnel during outbreak situations. All this made me love medicine even more and want to be on the front lines as a doctor. Recently I began shadowing a former colleague who is a physician to get more of a sense of what the daily life of a doctor really is and I loved it.

My concerns are my science grades. I took some science classes in high school at college level (not AP, actual college classes, my high school was strange) and did not do well because I was having a hard time with some mental health issues. This again happened in college when I took organic chemistry and got a C+. Socially and academically, I didn't find my college a great fit for me and struggled a lot with feeling out of place while also going through some heavy personal stuff. I really blossomed in graduate school where I took on leadership roles and graduated at the top of my class. During grad school I conducted research in a developing country on TB and received several awards.