Non -US IMG Here, when to take USMLE exams?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hariusmuru

Reaction score
Hi there, I am currently a first year medical student in China leading up to an MBBS(in english taught curriculum) degree. (To be clear, I am an Indian National) I want to do my residency in the US. Though I am an non-US IMG, I will become a permanent resident soon. My course duration is 6 years which is 5 years + 1 year of internship. All the disciplines covered on the USMLE step 1 is covered by the end of my third year, and for step 2 ck by the end of my 5th year. I have already started preparing for my step 1. I plan on doing externships after getting my usmle step 1 for obtaining US clinical experience. But at my university after 5th year first semester holidays we don't have holidays till the end of our internship year meaning I won't be able to write my Step 2 CK and CS till I graduate in 2025 around June. So if I write my step 2 CK and CS after graduating I have to apply for the match of 2026 and not immediately after I graduate. That adds around 9 months since graduating before I match. Would this pose a problem for my chances of matching, and should I take the risk and prepare for the step 2 CK and write the exam before the covered disciplines of the exam are taught at my college. So that I can apply for the match of 2025? I have heard a lot that people who apply for a while after graduating have less chances of matching. I know it seems as if I am planning for a far future, but I feel like something as big as this requires some before time planning. Also do I have to have Step 2 Ck and Cs scores before applying for the match?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I believe you know the step 1 had changed into P/F starting 2022; the answer for your last question is: YES you have to take step 2 and nail them on the first attempt!