Non-competes, control

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Horners

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any employed or job seeking psychiatrists out there feeling the same thing I’m feeling? Every employer wants to own you. Control what you do with your time, know where else you’re working etc…

I’m fairly new in the job search and I’ve found myself incredibly stressed out with this feeling that every employer wants to control what I do with my time.

I find this incredibly frustrating. Am I simply one of these people destined to own their own practice? The control employers want to have on me feels very uncomfortable.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The only way it changes (outside of contacting your legislators and advocating for a ban on healthcare professional non competes) is to put a line in the sand and refuse to work anywhere that requires them and be willing to walk - while letting them know that removing the non compete is a non negotiable issue for you. We need more physicians willing and able to do that.

Reactions: 10 users
I have often wondered what a potential employer would say if I told them I want a per-occurrence insurance policy and no non-competes or minimum contract length but, in turn, they can keep the signing bonus.

Any employed or job seeking psychiatrists out there feeling the same thing I’m feeling? Every employer wants to own you. Control what you do with your time, know where else you’re working etc…

I’m fairly new in the job search and I’ve found myself incredibly stressed out with this feeling that every employer wants to control what I do with my time.

I find this incredibly frustrating. Am I simply one of these people destined to own their own practice? The control employers want to have on me feels very uncomfortable.