New attending advice thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sweatshirt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been on these forums since I was a junior in undergrad. Tomorrow I start my first day as an attending fresh out of residency and it's kinda surreal. I will be rural hospital employed, only podiatrist for about 60 miles or so in all directions. Any advice or words of wisdom are greatly appreciated. I know I am well trained, confident, and have a lot of tools in my toolbox to help my patients. However, I still can't help but feel nervous for this new start. Thank you all for your help and advice over the years. Despite the negativity on these forums they have has a positive impact on my podiatry journey

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 6 users
I've been on these forums since I was a junior in undergrad. Tomorrow I start my first day as an attending fresh out of residency and it's kinda surreal. I will be rural hospital employed, only podiatrist for about 60 miles or so in all directions. Any advice or words of wisdom are greatly appreciated. I know I am well trained, confident, and have a lot of tools in my toolbox to help my patients. However, I still can't help but feel nervous for this new start. Thank you all for your help and advice over the years. Despite the negativity on these forums they have has a positive impact on my podiatry journey
Congrats bro!!! Stay humble and care for your patients. Word travels fast. Always do the right thing. DO NOT get talked into doing cosmetic foot surgery.

Reactions: 3 users
Don't take the job too seriously. You'll be happier.

• Love
Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Never ever close a wound primarily.

• Love