Nevada Licensing: Don't Bother

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Say No To NV

Reaction score
I graduated from residency in 2010. In ten years of practice I got medical licenses in two states (including California, which is supposedly one of the difficult ones). Almost a year ago now I accepted a one week/month job in Las Vegas.

I won't bore you with the details, but let me just state that I wish I had never, ever engaged with the Nevada Medical Board. They are worthless. (And, no, Covid-19 had almost nothing to do with their incompetence.) I have no lawsuits, have fastidious CME logs, two board certifications, only one malpractice carrier, and an uninterrupted employment history with one expired and two current hospital affiliations. Not that it matters, but I graduated from a top-20 domestic allopathic program and a separate top-20 residency. In other words, my Nevada medical license should have been nothing more than a $1500 rubber stamp.

Six months--and COUNTLESS emails, phone calls, and snail mail letters--I finally told the Nevada board where they could stick it. I'm not going to rehash reasons they found for delaying my application; I'm just going to warn young docs on this forum: be very, very sure you want to practice in Nevada for the long haul before you waste time, money, and sanity applying for a Nevada license.

If you send me a PM, I will give you the email address of their director, because I am sure you will eventually need it. He's an all right fellow who did as much as he could, but he's unable to singlehandedly overcome the department's total bureaucratic and purposeful incompetence.

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from residency in 2010. In ten years of practice I got medical licenses in two states (including California, which is supposedly one of the difficult ones). Almost a year ago now I accepted a one week/month job in Las Vegas.