Need helping choosing pharmacy school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futurepharmacist99

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am currently an undergrad and I have no idea where to go for pharmacy school (in California). I have a few questions for those who are already in pharmacy school:

1. Do we need to take the PCAT? I'm looking at the requirements on a lot of pharmacy school websites in California and they say that they don't require it. Did most of you guys take it or not?

2. Do you recommend the 3 year or 4 year program?

3. Which schools have just pass/no pass as the grading system, I'm trying to look through the websites of these pharmacy schools and none of them talk about it.

4. What pharmacy school do u recommend in ur opinion?

Thank you guys! :) I appreciate it

Members don't see this ad.

So I can't speak on specifically California schools, but I would highly recommend a 4 year over a 3 year program. For one thing, tuition is usually higher per year at a 3 year program, which makes it roughly the same as (if not more than) a 4 year program. Additionally, you go year round at a 3 year program. You are going to get much fewer intern hours that way, since most students only work 10-15 hours maximum during school weeks. Whereas many traditional students will be picking up more hours in the summer, or maybe even getting experience in uncommon pharmacy areas, you will be in a classroom. And we haven't even talked about burnout yet. Don't piss away your summer breaks while you still have them.

Reactions: 1 user
The real answer is to seriously reconsider your decision to go to pharmacy school. We're expecting negative job growth in the next 10 years. California was one of the most saturated states BEFORE all the new schools graduated their first classes.