Need Help!!!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nasim288

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wondering if I could get a little advice on a few questions? First, are there any thoughts as to the future demand of pharmacists 5 to 10 years from now? I am not in a program as of yet but I am thinking of applying for the fall of 2004 and would like to make sure I don't obtain a degree that will be hard pressed to use 5 years from now. Secondly, I am a 29 year old consultant for a large technology firm that has been out of the field of science for 2 years. I graduated with my BS in Biology in 1998 with an overall GPA of 3.11 and a transfer GPA of 3.68. My science and math GPA is about a 3.0 but I do have 2 C's in Organic Chemistry and a C in my second semester of Physics. Although they are not the best grades, I did have extenuating circumstances while going thru my last 2 years of college: brother died my senior year, bankrupt my fjunior year, and worked full time while helping my parents out financially. My question is, would I need to go back to a science job to be competitive for a PharmD program? And, how do admissions boards look at older students that have switched jobs, for financial reasons, and wish to obtain a graduate professional degree? Last, what financial support is available to a student like me who does not want to take out a ton of student loans? Thank you all for your replies in advance.+pissed+ :love: :confused: :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

I can't see the demand for pharmacists declining. Possibly changing focus a bit, but not dissapearing all together.

There may be less of a demand in retail pharmacy where machines and (hopefully) better trained technicians will be picking up extra workload.