Need advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

savytricks

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody. I am new to SDN and looking to get some advice on whether or not I should apply this year or delay to next years cycle.

I just graduated this past may. Here are my stats:
Major: Biochemistry w/ honors concentration
Minor: Mathematics
Overall GPA: 3.44
Scien. GPA: (same as overall)

Gen. chem : A, B
Orgo 1,2: B, B
Analytical chem: B+
Gen Bio: A-, C
Genetic.:A
Physics: B,B+
Molecular Bio: C+
Calc.1, Cacl.2, Calc.3: A,A,A
Biomed stats, Discrete: A,B+
Mostly A/B+'s in humanities

Extra Curr.'s :
Student Government (12-15 hrs week) Class e board and Executive council, Research with Biochemistry professor at school (3 semesters) also presented at regional drosophilia conference with this research past April, 50+ hrs community service, Resident Assistant (RA) for 1 year, TA for Gen chem for 1 semester due to class conflict couldn't continue. 50+ hrs of shadowing, 100+ volunteering at hospital through Mentoring in Medicine.

I am registered to take the MCAT August 10 and will get my scores back around Sept.11 I believe. I just started studying to take it giving myself about 2 months to prepare.

I want to know: 1)What do my chances look like at getting into either MD or DO schools?
2) Would it be a smart move applying now or waiting until the next cycle when I can apply as quickly as possible?

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

You will need more time on the MCAT. Give yourself more than 3 months. Preferably 6. MCAT will determine, MD, DO and possible scholarship. Ive seen many minorities get their medical school dreams pushed back by the MCAT. Like I said study for about 3 months at least.

Hey everybody. I am new to SDN and looking to get some advice on whether or not I should apply this year or delay to next years cycle.

I just graduated this past may. Here are my stats: