Need advice for reapplying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nsin0

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first post so bear with me.

Before I get into it, let me give u some background info. My OAT scores are AA: 330 and TS: 350, reading comp 290 dropped my score big time. I graduated UC San Diego with a bs in cognitive science/neuroscience with a minor in history. My overall gpa is 2.6 and my pre-requiste is slightly lower. I have some great optometric experienes over 1000+ hrs at a retail office and a vision therapy clinic. I'm currently researching the effectiveness of neurofeedback training on autism spectrum disorders at UCSD's neuro lab. I've applied to, well lets say a lot of opt schools, got 2 interviews at SUNY and ICO. SUNY's interivew was...well not a pleasant experience, got waitlisted for ICO, but found out recently I wasn't in the final cut (more power to you optcraze, lol). Now i'm contemplating, what I need to do to improve my application for next years class? which its scary to think since this whole process begins again at Aug 1. I know my biggest weakness is my gpa. those early years of goofin off, I'm sure paying for it now. I've been trying to improve on that by taking 3 classes per quarter for the past 2 quarters, with meager results B, B, C grade for both quarters. Now I'm at a crossroads: from now till aug 1, I can take up to 4 classes, will getting high marks on these 4 courses be enough? During this time I can also get another optometric internship to help pay for this whopping $2,800 tuition. Or should I take these courses at a local community college, where it would be much cheaper, but risk having the admissions committee frown upon it. Or should I take only 2 courses and volunteer the 2nd month in Africa through Unite for Sight?, great experience, but my problems lie with my poor gpa-not my optometry exposure. Or another option, ta