NBDE and OMS help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SC-Z

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys- I'm a 3rd year dental student now and just recieved my part I board scores. I recieved and 89 and want to do OMS. I recieved an 83 in the anatomical science part and did fairly well in the rest of the sections(low 90-93). It actually calculated to 89.4%. I want to specialize in OMS, but is an 89 an adequate score to match? My grades are strong, ~3.7, and I plan on doing plenty of extra-curricular activities. Do you think that will make me a strong candidate for OMS???................. or should I plan on retaking that one section over?

Members don't see this ad.

SC-Z said:
hey guys- I'm a 3rd year dental student now and just recieved my part I board scores. I recieved and 89 and want to do OMS. I recieved an 83 in the anatomical science part and did fairly well in the rest of the sections(low 90-93). It actually calculated to 89.4%. I want to specialize in OMS, but is an 89 an adequate score to match? My grades are strong, ~3.7, and I plan on doing plenty of extra-curricular activities. Do you think that will make me a strong candidate for OMS???................. or should I plan on retaking that one section over?
On top of the OP's question, I'm curious about the reverse--I have a 93 on Part I, but my GPA through second year is a thoroughly unremarkable 3.05. I'm off to a much stronger start in clinic, and getting my board scores did wonders for my motivation, so I expect I'll be able to improve my transcript between now and graduation. What I'm wondering is:

1) Assuming for the moment that I'm a competent interviewer given the opportunity, at this moment how long do y'all put my odds?

2) I've already resigned myself that GPA definitely won't be something I play up, so for now I'll be content to break even. How far would I need to boost it to at least get it out of the "liability" column?