My list of schools -- do I have a chance to get in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sarahg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm mainly interested in early intervention/pediatric OT, so I want to go to a university that either offers a formal concentration in this area or is flexible with allowing students to concentrate their studies (electives, flexible fieldwork, etc). I also want to be in a city, preferably a large city near one of the coasts. I'm a California resident, but neither of the public CA schools look like they really offer what I want. I've searched a lot of websites and come up with the following list:
USC (dream school)
Columbia
SUNY Downstate Brooklyn
Thomas Jefferson
Towson (not sure about the location, but it's public which is good)
WashU St Louis (program looks amazing but I'm definitely not sure about living in Missouri for two years...could be worth applying though)

My main concern is my GPA. It'll be about 3.0 if I do well during my senior year (I have two semesters left) because I had one awful semester. My prereq GPA should be much higher -- I have A's in ones I've taken so far and hope to have at least a 3.5 average in all of them. I'll have at least 100 hours of volunteer work in different settings (so far I've worked in a pediatric outpatient office, an early intervention preschool-type program, and looking at a rehab hospital to get experience with adults). I haven't taken the GRE yet but expect very good scores because standardized tests are a major strength of mine.

So, with a decent prereqs GPA, a great GRE score, and 100+ volunteer hours, do I have a chance at getting into these schools with a 3.0 overall GPA? Any other schools I should look at for pediatrics or with strong sensory integration programs?

Members don't see this ad.

hi