Must haves for Intern Life

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShambhalaRed

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The thread about what to carry when at work is good stuff! What I want to know is, for those of you already in residency, what kinds of things helped you keep your sanity intern year and made your life easier when you were not at work, i.e. TiVo, a housekeeper, etc...

Members don't see this ad.

As a med student I started having my shirts laundered and pressed, and I've continued this into residency. Life is far too short and free time FAR too precious to waste it ironing a bunch of fricking shirts. And you need to have hobbies. I moved to a new city for residency, and although I've met a lot of people and we do go out some, there seems to be a lot of times (particularly during days off in the middle of the week) that I wished I had more of a life and more hobbies.

ShambhalaRed said:
The thread about what to carry when at work is good stuff! What I want to know is, for those of you already in residency, what kinds of things helped you keep your sanity intern year and made your life easier when you were not at work, i.e. TiVo, a housekeeper, etc...

Definitely TiVo if you're into that, you can't beat watching all your favorite shows in 1/2 the time it normally takes....
And for me it was also a subscription to my favorite non-medical magazine, and wireless internet access on my laptop.

Members don't see this ad :)
I also get my dress shirts dry-cleaned and pressed
TiVo is awesome
Gym
Go eat a meal or have a drink with coworkers when you can, but NO SHOP TALK!
Guitar
DVDs
Internet

The most important 'thing' you can have, IMHO, is perspective.

It's very easy to get sucked into the regimented insanity of a teaching hospital and the chaotic insanity of patient's lives.