MS4 Interested in Occupational Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Free411

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I know there are threads about this particular field already, trust me, I've done the searches. I just want to know, from anyone currently in this field, what is the average starting salary? Or what kind of offers were you presented with when pursuing jobs?

My background is that I am currently an MS4 at a top 10 program who will have an MPH by the time of graduation. I have solid stats in regard to board scores and clerkship grades but nothing too crazy (think competitive for stuff like EM, anesthesia, maybe optho, etc.) I've been told by a mentor that my chances of getting into prev med are pretty high (not that it is even remotely competitive).

I have an interest in public health and clinical med and I feel that prev med/occ med route is the best way to merge those two interests. From a self-serving perspective, I like the lifestyle of occ med docs as I have shadowed in this field before.

Necessary specifications:
-I know they aren't making the "big bucks". That's fine with me. I'm the type of person, though, that with my debt level and current needs/tastes I could live happily on 200-220K/yr. It's just incredibly hard to find good salary info.
-I already know how the application process goes so I don't need that info.
-I know prev med and occ med are two different residencies. I plan to get double boarded.
-Obviously I can search average salary of X field on Google, but most of the sites are highly unreliable. I just want some ballparks numbers.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: