Midlife crises as pathologist (M44)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Denmark

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working as a pathologist for 15 years and feel like it's becoming assembly line work, the same routine day in and day out. Even on the home front, things have become a bit dull. It's probably a typical midlife crisis, and in this context, I don't find the pathologist life particularly uplifting. Are there any books out there that can offer perspectives and techniques?

Members don't see this ad.

15 years doing anything will bring monotony, IMO. Doesn't seem to be a pathology problem, more of an existential one, but agree that as we age and increasingly feel our mortality, the daily onslaught of cancer can be depressing, or at least 'not particularly uplifting'.

You've spent your life (presumably) on the usual 4-6 yr cyclical trajectory: study, work hard, achieve goal, move to the next level. Now you're playing 'creative mode' and it gets boring. Entirely relatable. You've been practicing for 15 yrs so we're not too far off. How about these for a start:

Malcolm Gladwell's Outliers. Maybe you've already read it. If not, maybe it will provide the notion that doing something for 15 yrs (or longer when you include all the prerequisite training) makes you an expert of your craft...maybe not a world-renowned athlete or Nobel prize winning scientist, but you've honed a craft that puts you in a unique position relative to other people.

Jonathan Haidt The Happiness Hypothesis. The Happiness Hypothesis - Jonathan Haidt
He has some other great books as well, particularly as to how you should be grateful you're a part of late Gen X / early Millennial generation and avoided a childhood filled with limitless technology / smart phones and the dangers therein (eg. The Anxious Generation and The Coddling of the American Mind.)