Mentorship or Manipulation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amelogenin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new dentist, just graduated a few months ago and now I'm practicing. I joined a corporate office and I'm working as an associate in a corporate-owned office with another dentist with 20+ years of experience. He doesn't own the practice but he acts like he owns the place, telling people where they can and can't eat, bringing in his own equipment to do procedures, holding impromptu meetings during which he just browbeats and scolds people into submission and agreement. He even has taken it upon himself to form a practice plan everyone follows, changing commonly known phrases into things that he thinks sound more appropriate, like "recare" instead of "recall". Everyone answers to him, not me- and sometimes the RDAs and RDHs are defiant when I tell them something other than what he has ingrained in their minds (even on days when I'm the only dentist there). He sometimes even stands outside operatories when I am working with patients to listen in on our conversations. He reviews all of my cases and has even told me that he is going to go through all of my cases one by one and change treatment plans to what he sees fit if he has to. He has done that before without telling me, and I was really annoyed when he did that, but he was very unapologetic. He gives good advice but he is seriously overbearing and controlling- he tells me what to say to patients, how to say it, what to treatment plan and when. He even told me that I absolutely have to treatment plan quadrant CHX irrigation with SRP, despite the fact that I rightly noted that irrigation does not provide any real improvement in pocket reduction. He basically told me that I have no real world experience and that I was speaking out of my @$$.