Medicine vs. Family

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zsan

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a 29 year old Engineer on a business track and looking for a career change because I feel business is the most soul sucking profession you can enter (sorry, don't mean to offend anyone). In any event, I am strongly considering applying to medical school, however the thought of graduating from a residency program at the age of 40 is slightly daunting. Daunting to me because having a family and raising children are the most important things to me. I know that if I stay in my current career, my lack of passion for the field will get me no where fast. I strongly believe that I can be happy with a career in medicine however will I be sacrificing the possibility of getting married and starting a family? I will be a poor male during my entire 30's. How will I be able to support a wife and kids? Do I do what is best for myself career wise and give up on having a family or do I stick it out in a career that I do not enjoy to support the possibility of having a family (this may not even happen). Is this really an all or nothing decision? Anyone out there been able to find a way to balance the two?

Thanks for your comments,
Zsan

Members don't see this ad.

Zsan said:
Hi all,