Medical field with a Chemical Engineering Degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

schoolgirl99

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a sophomore in chemical engineering and it has ruptured my GPA. Nonetheless, I am not sure if I should obtain a chemical engineering internship or a medical research internship. After freshmen year, I had a research internship at a well-known hospital. I am just not sure if I should look well-rounded by having a chemical engineering internship, or to just stick with what I wish to be in the future and obtain another research internship at another hospital?

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to go to Med school why are you doing ChemE? Your GPA will suffer and you’ll never work as an engineer anyway.

Reactions: 1 user
If you want to go to Med school why are you doing ChemE? Your GPA will suffer and you’ll never work as an engineer anyway.
I took the path of chemical engineering as a backup incase medical school did not work out. Mindless of the fact that it could be the reason why I may not get into medical school.

Members don't see this ad :)
Depends on how bad the GPA and how determined you are to go to medical school? If the GPA is low, but still somewhat competitive (or you're so determined to do medicine, so as to do a post bacc to fix said GPA) then do the medical internship. If not, do the engineering internship, so that you can utilize your major.

Depends on how bad the GPA and how determined you are to go to medical school? If the GPA is low, but still somewhat competitive (or you're so determined to do medicine, so as to do a post bacc to fix said GPA) then do the medical internship. If not, do the engineering internship, so that you can utilize your major.
My GPA is at a 3.36 right now, and I do not think that is competitive right?