Mckinsey consulting vs. dermatology radiation oncology, radiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gunneria

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ill be straightforward....I love medicine and I love the science and at the end of the day I want to do what I love. At the same time, some of us think about $$$ and lifestyle not as the end-of-all but a major consideration. After researching great lifestyle/$$$ paths over the past few years (I'm a 4th year med student applying to derm and my interest stems from a ton of derm-related research-nih, review projects, transplant center, etc...), I sometimes pondered as I joked with my business buddies from college, what could an MBA in healthcare consulting followed by a consulting job at Mckinsey take me? I thought about the reasons why I turned down business before- the variance/luck of it all- connections panning out, networking, etc...in order to climb the ladder to the top. I even thought why there are always a handful (4-6) Harvard MD (+ MBA?) grads go to work at Mckinsey Then again, about 12 harvard MD grads choose derm, 8 choose rad-onc, 8 choose rads...I'm sure they have earned it with their hard work to live out their dream to make $$.

So I was wondering, is a job at Mckinsey healthcare consulting worth > derm, rad onc, rads private practice given the impending healthcare reimbursement cuts and increased governmental regulation? Am I a dummy for even asking this? I am not sure what the future of Mckinsey healthcare consulting is like but I speculate there is a brighter side of obtaining a high ceiling.

Members don't see this ad.