MBBS from Malaysia private med school for practicing in Singapore?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LifeChanging

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear forumers, I have a tough decision to make, please help me.
Let's start with my main question:

My question is: Are graduates from private medical schools in Malaysia (such as Monash University Malaysia, IMU, etc) allowed to practice medicine in Singapore?

I am an engineer in my early 30's. I have a 1st class Hons Electrical Engineering degree from University of Malaya, and a Master of Engineering degree from Nanyang Technological University (NTU, Singapore). I am a Malaysia citizen, and a Singapore PR.

I experienced a life-changing event recently. I am now strongly inspired to become a doctor. I know it's a little late for the motivation to surface now, but I don't want to have regrets in life. I am prepared to let go of my engineering career and start afresh.

The thing is, it is highly unlikely for me to be accepted into a public university in Malaysia because I already got my 1st degree from a public university, and at my age it is not worthwhile for the government to invest that kind of effort to train me.

So I'm left with the option of going to a private medical college in Malaysia (studying in other countries is out of the question, budget constraints). But the Singapore Medical Council recognizes only UM and UKM MBBS graduates. And I really want to practice in Singapore because my whole family loves it here.

Is there a way for graduates of Malaysian medical schools other than UM & UKM to become a doctor in Singapore? Please advise. And I'd appreciate a little more elaboration as I'm not familiar in this field of study. Thanks!:)

Members don't see this ad.