M4 graduating off-cycle_views and opinions in regards to residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdhopeful26

Reaction score
Dear All,

Hope all is well!

I am a current M4 who likely be applying to an internal medicine residency in this upcoming ERAS cycle (2020-2021) and am hoping to attend a Top 10 residency program. I am still considering radiology or urology but am likely leaning toward IM. My situation is untraditional in that I will be graduating off cycle in December 2020 due to a medical leave of absence during my 3rd year of medical school. I know that as a December graduate, I will still be considered a US senior, but I am wondering how programs will view me being off-cycle and finishing in December?

Also, is there anything that I can do during the free time that I have from Dec-June 2021 that could help bolster me as a candidate? I was considering doing research but was also looking for other options to help keep my clinical skills uptodate and ready for residency.
Any input or suggestions would be appreciated!

Stats:
AOA, GHS, Step 1 250+, Step 2CK 260+, 5 publications (1 first author, rest middle author)

Thank you for all your help! I really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I’ve always under the impression that off cycle applicants are at a disadvantage.

edit: I cannot read good.

Good luck op

Dear All,

Hope all is well!