General Low GPA Undergrad-any chances for PA school?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a Medical Laboratory Scientist. I have been working in the medical field for 3 years now. I am interested in applying for PA school. I am little discouraged to try due to a low GPA (2.9). I have about 200 credit hours on my transcript. I have an upward trend the last 2 years of college. Dean's list twice. I have taken several challenging courses like Pharmacology, Medical Physiology, Hematology, Microbiology and so on. My current career has limited patient contact. I was a CNA for 1 and a half (started on 2015). I am trying to find a PA to shadow currently. Do I have a chance to apply for schools with minimum 3.0?
Any advice? Thank you.

If you are working in a hospital setting, finding a PA isn't that hard (approaching one to shadow of course is a networking skill you have to develop). I think you have to do your homework on schools where you want to apply and see if your experience meets their clinical hours requirements. You also probably have to take the GRE. Reach out to PA program directors and admissions folks and maybe they know of some alumni you can talk to.

Members don't see this ad.

UTHSC is the college I want to apply to has a minimum of 500, so I fit the requirement. Besides the GRE and PA Shadowing, any advice on grades? Do I need to do a post-bacc?
Have you networked with the school? Attended any information sessions (online or in person)?

Sent from my SM-N960U using SDN mobile

I did the PAEA Virtual Fair with a lot of schools you can chat with. I am scheduled for UTHSC this coming March for a start. I had asked about my situation, but the sheer number of people asking at the same time made it difficult to communicate.