Low 230s Step 1: can I still match General Surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhoenixAZ

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just got my score last week after working hard for 2 years and putting in lots of hours studying during dedicated. I was hoping to get 240, but ended up with 231. I know the mean Step 1 score for GS match is 235. I am below average. Can I still hope to match a solid program in GS? I know top programs are out of my reach now.

I am a US MD student at a mid/low tier medical school. Going to start 3rd year rotation next week.

Members don't see this ad.

What you need is to take a statistics class . . .

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)
What you need is to take a statistics class . . .

There is no need to make such a rude and sacarstic comment like this. I know statistic. I know what mean/average is - it means half of the folks who match score higher than 235 and half scores lower. What I also know is that there many GS programs out there: tippy top ones in desirable locations and not so good ones/bottom of the piles programs in undesirable locations. What I am asking is possibility to match in solid programs.

Reactions: 1 user
You have been in school long enough to know that scores are not everything they look at. Go publish few good papers/impress your faculty and you are better off than the guys with 250s or go piss off a few surgeons and you will be worse off than the guys that scored 210s.

I mean you obviously know the answer to your own question. You scored around average, so more than likely are you are an average student who will have an average application and you will probably match into an average program.