Long (UTHSCSA) vs UTMB (I am non-Texas resident)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

illmaatic

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm having a hard time

I'm very settled on pursuing anesthesia. I would VERY much like to match in socal (anywhere in LA, irvine, or san diego). i'm a california resident if that matters.

first thing i'll note is there's a big price difference. like 20k for Long vs 30+k for UTMB. but UTMB is releasing aid/scholarship awards sometime this month so maybe that would change. i guess i can talk to the financial aid office?

sentimentally i've liked UTMB this whole time. i like the location (i've been), the school showed confidence in me very early which i appreciate, the student body seems great (as does Long's though), i'm set to live at a cheap frat nearby (really a coop it seems to me). i've talked with anesthesia people and seems like there's some good opportunities. i like that pre-clinicals are P/F unlike Long (though i'll be aiming for aoa so idk how much that matters).

otoh, everyone in texas seems to **** on utmb for whatever reason. they're unranked because of shady behavior on their part i guess (not that ranking matters but shadiness does). people hate galveston (which is kinda mystifying to me).

i don't know i've just assumed i've been going to utmb this whole time and i was happy with that, my living situation there is even already settled, in a situation i'm really happy with (i thrived in a coop as an undergrad and really wanted something similar for med school).

i know much more about utmb and don't really know much about Long, but i'll have to decide quick. Long is just so much cheaper (as of right now anyway) and idk if it would be better for career goals. i would appreciate any and all input. thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

How much time do you have to decide?