Loans advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sav17

Reaction score
Can I get advice on taking loans? Optometry school is a big investment and so expensive...i feel I may have to take over 20k in loans with interest and that terrifies me as this is my first time taking a huge amount. Is that a lot?

20k a year doesnt seem too bad as it can add to 80-100k for the 4 years in school and hopefully I can pay that all off in a few years after getting a job as an optometrist, but to those in opt school currently, or recently graduated, how are you handling it if you dont have parents to help? Is there enough time for part time jobs? Any advice would be nice.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
20K a year is not bad, honestly. I'm a fourth year with zero financial help from family or anything and I've been taking 20K a semester for tuition and housing costs. To be completely honest, I didn't think about the ROI that much early on because I was passionate about optometry but 250K in loans is gonna be really daunting when I graduate. I'm going to try to attack it early on because the interest on that is no joke and it doesn't look like national loan forgiveness is gonna be a thing in this country anytime soon.

20K a year is not bad, honestly. I'm a fourth year with zero financial help from family or anything and I've been taking 20K a semester for tuition and housing costs. To be completely honest, I didn't think about the ROI that much early on because I was passionate about optometry but 250K in loans is gonna be really daunting when I graduate. I'm going to try to attack it early on because the interest on that is no joke and it doesn't look like national loan forgiveness is gonna be a thing in this country anytime soon.

If you're taking $20k a semester that comes out to around $160k over 4 years of OD school. Did you also bring in $90k in student loans from undergrad?