Loaded experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TriAgain

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a reapplicant. I needed to improve a poor MCAT score from my previous application - and I did. But, while getting my Masters in Social Work I became very active with my school's gay, lesbian and bisexual issues group. I'm not gay (really) but I need some advice on if I should list these activities as some may see them as a "red flag".

Thanks,

J

Members don't see this ad.

chicagomel said:
What if you emphasized the fact that you were "straight alliance" and how you're a proponent of human rights?

I, too, have that dilemma, as I was a Social Events Officer my junior year in college. I'm not sure what to do about that, because I don't want to raise a "red flag" either.

Any advice out there?

I know another student who is applying for the first time this year. He is an arab-american and has volunteered time in the palestinian territories and with palestinian organizations. He feels like he is in the same boat. I guess I could be a more difficult situation, like his, but this is my third try and I don't know if I can handle a fourth. So I'm really hoping someone out there knows something useful...

Thanks,

J

TriAgain said:
I am a reapplicant. I needed to improve a poor MCAT score from my previous application - and I did. But, while getting my Masters in Social Work I became very active with my school's gay, lesbian and bisexual issues group. I'm not gay (really) but I need some advice on if I should list these activities as some may see them as a "red flag".

Thanks,

J

Really? Are you serious? Are you afraid that they will think you're gay!?! :scared: