Length of training?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

carDiO

serving
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an accepted pre-med student. This question is for my fiance. My fiance received a bachelors in psychology and is currently in her first semester of a counseling psychology masters degree program at OSU-Tulsa. She has been considering applying for the Ph.D. in counseling psychology. What is an average amount of time it takes someone to get through from start to finish in this type of thing? Also if someone could breakdown how the practicum, internship, dissertation and classes all fit together and in what order, that would be informative. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

so 4 to 5 years to do all of the courses, practica, internship and dissertation?

Members don't see this ad :)
Counseling psychologists are trained at the doctoral level (usually Ph.D., but also Psy.D. or Ed.D.) in programs that typically require AT LEAST four to five years of graduate study, involving coursework and integrated training experiences in a variety of topical areas and professional skills.

Unlike medical school in which the length of training is predetermined and concrete, the length of graduate school depends on how long it takes students to complete their dissertation. In the research world, sometimes you get good data, sometimes you get bad data. I have heard of people who were in graduate school for 10 or more years. Rest assured, however, that the average length of most counseling psychology Ph.D. programs is 4 to 5 years.

Search that website well -- it's the official APA website for counseling psychology. It may also be useful to contact individual programs to inquire about the length of training and specific degree requirements.

Hope this helps.