Leave of absence?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

802ginger

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

So I'm in my third year of undergrad and I'm falling really behind in my bills. I work 40+ hours a week and I have a full class schedule. People have suggested I take a leave of absence for a semester so I can work more to get some bills caught up/paid off and then go back. If I do this it'll put me at least year behind because the only classes I have left to take are mostly split over 2 semesters. However, I'm seriously considering it because I don't want my credit to drop to the point that I won't be able to pay for med school at all, but at the same time I'm afraid if I take this time off it will ruin my chances entirely. I know if I tried to work more right now my grades would drop and I don't want that either. Does anyone have any advice on this?

Members don't see this ad.

Some (a lot? can't remember) schools might ask if you've taken any breaks and why. Saying that you had to for financial reasons (with employment entries during that timespan) is a good reason. Also if you try to work more and your GPA tanks, that would be a whole lot worse than having to explain some time off.

Can't really advise you about your life, but you should protect your GPA at all costs, and leaving school briefly isn't the end of the world.

Reactions: 1 users
Take the semester off and get caught up financially. Can you get more student loans to help with school costs? You may consider taking more time off from school just to make sure you can cover all your financial bases. Nobody is going to blame you for putting your academics on hold to make sure you're not screwed financially.

Members don't see this ad :)
You should take the semester off. I know how difficult it is to balance education and a 40 hour courseload. You will appreciate yourself.