jobs in underserved regions of US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Peeshee

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'd like to know of any resources to find physician opportunities in underserved areas of the US, particularly in the inner city. I'd also welcome suggestions of how to go about practicing in the inner city. Any specific recommendations to obtain during residency training? I'd appreciate your response.

Members don't see this ad.

Where are you in your training? Are you dedicated to urban practice? Are sure you want to practice in the US? Do you have any specific areas of interest? There are tons of resources depending on what you are looking for.

I'm in my second year of residency. I am also interested in international health and would like to work abroad but initially I think I will look for something in urban practice in the US. I am interested in working with adolescent healthcare, in prevention of STD's and teenage pregnancy and drug and alcohol abuse, and also HIV/Hep.C/Homeless populations. I did a rotation as a med. student in the Bronx/Harlem, which I think is similar to what I'd like to do. I just don't know where I would find job opportunities online. I guess I could call the place where I did the rotation. Any other suggestions?

Members don't see this ad :)