Job advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NoobPharmD?

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Just quick intro. I graduated from pharmacy school in 2017 and got licensed early 2018 in California. I am currently working for the state hospital. Put simply, I'm bored of my job. The state position, in my position, is extremely banal and non-stimulting education wise. I feel like I am wasting and forgetting everything I learned in pharmacy school if I continue with the state. Yes I know everyone raves about the benefits and whatnot of the state, but I don't care too much about that. What I seek is enjoyment of my job and currently I'm bored with pharmacy. Getting to the point, I've always had an interest in true crime/forensics. I need advice as to how to transition to this field. Anyone know about forensic pharmacy? I'm currently considering getting a degree in forensic toxicology, which would be the closest I've been able to find. Anyone got any input? I'm kind of interested in working for the dea/fda/fbi, but still stay in the health field. I'm not cut out for law enforcement field.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'd agree that toxicology is probably the closest you'll get. I've talked to a couple FBI and DEA agents who said that pharmacists meet the educational requirements to apply for an 1811 series position but they were unaware of anything more closely related to pharmacy.

Jobs are most of the time boring, that is why you are paid to do them. Enjoyment and excitement are for hobbies. Sure forensics sounds exciting, but most of it is going to be pretty boring, it's not like CSI or TV.

You would likely be taking a huge pay cut to work in forensics. Personally, I'd work at the better paying, boring job, and thereby have a lot more money to spend on exciting and enjoyable hobbies.

Reactions: 8 users
Members don't see this ad :)