Is Step 2 important?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dootdoodooo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a 3rd year med student planning on applying to PRS this year. I'm currently scheduling courses for summer/fall and there is really no good time for me to take Step 2. I realize it doesn't require the 6 dedicated weeks like Step 1, but I have a really busy end of 3rd year and beginning on 4th year. Does it matter if I don't take it until Oct/Nov? I did well on Step 1 (250s) so I'm not trying to compensate for anything, but I don't want it to look like I'm purposely avoiding it. If it's something program directors are really interested in seeing, I will try to work something out.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm a 3rd year med student planning on applying to PRS this year. I'm currently scheduling courses for summer/fall and there is really no good time for me to take Step 2. I realize it doesn't require the 6 dedicated weeks like Step 1, but I have a really busy end of 3rd year and beginning on 4th year. Does it matter if I don't take it until Oct/Nov? I did well on Step 1 (250s) so I'm not trying to compensate for anything, but I don't want it to look like I'm purposely avoiding it. If it's something program directors are really interested in seeing, I will try to work something out.

Thanks!

There is a school of though that if you blow up step I, then you should put off step II as it can only hurt you since it is unlikely that you will beat your step I score.