Is residency worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whoareyou123

Reaction score
I'd appreciate any advice, but would highly prefer to hear from doctors who have already finished residency and have families.
I am about to start my 4th year of medical school. I have a 2 yr old and a husband who currently makes +1M a year. I am struggling with the decision of if residency is worth it. I have decided on family medicine as it seems to be the most flexible of the specialties and family friendly. I am an older non traditional student which is why I decided to have a child during medical school, however I clearly had a desire to become a physician given I am in medical school. However, residency is a **** show that has no give or flex for anyone with families. When I had my daughter, I always knew that I would need a nanny given both my husband and I would be working (my husband works longer hours than residency ones). But I'm now at a point where I don't want some random woman to take care of my child (daycare around me are from 9-4pm, and thus would need childcare realistically full time in the mornings and evenings until I get home). I also want to be there for my children and husband. I've spoken and listened to many physicians during my 3rd year and all of them are doing this as a job/just for the money. Obviously helping people is nice, but let's be real, physicians are just people who want to make enough to live life and provide for their families. It's a plus that they can feel that they are helping and adding to society. I look at that and think about if residency/becoming a doctor is worth putting my family through 3 years of residency - no weekends, nanny raising my child (my income as a FM doctor post tax income would not even cover the nanny salary), not able to spend time with my husband...all for something that I don't really "need". Of course, I want it badly and if I was single I'd