Is it too late to shadow a DO now and add it on my "Experiences" on my primary application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I shadow a DO even if it's this late into the cycle?

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

sopiperlacia

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am new to SND so sorry if I am doing anything wrong. Just to give a little background information...

Currently I am in the middle of doing my secondary applications for DO schools. I submitted my primary application in July but I am still waiting for my college's committee letter packet to arrive to AACOMAS (I know it's a little late...) I am currently a scribe in the ED and I have shadowed an MD for about 200 hours and received a recommendation letter from him. I have already submitted 3 secondary applications to Western University, LECOM, and NYITCOM. Some secondaries ask about "why osteopathic medicine," and through research and talking to my cousin who is a DO and a graduate from NYITCOM, I was able to receive some insight and write a response.

However, after reading a lot of posts about the "requirement" of shadowing a DO and obtaining a rec letter from one, I was wondering if I should reach out to DOs in my area and shadow them? Is it too late because I have already submitted my secondaries for some schools? And if I do shadow a DO, should I wait to complete my hours before sending in anymore secondaries?

I am aware it is prime time to be submitting applications which is why I am so worried about being late especially with a DO shadowing experience.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.