Inveting and Finance Internships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mddre

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Recently,
I have decided that I would like to pursue both MD/MBA degrees. I'm a UCLA grad with a BS in Psychobiology. I will be applying to admission for medical schools for Fall of 06. In the meanwhile, aside studying for my MCAT, I would also like to get some work experience in the Investing field. I just absolutely love the stock market (Investing is one of my biggest hobbies), I know a lot about the market and investing but I know that there is much more that I need to learn. I would definitley love to find a volunteer position, intern, or even a part time position in a good investing firm. I just want to be able to work under an experienced investment advisor like aucdoctobe did, I don't care how much money I make, I just want the best mentor possible. After medicine, business is my passion. Can someone please give some advice about how I can go about finding the best investing internship possible in Los Angeles area? I have already registered on monsertrak.com, but I haven't looked thoroughly yet.

Members don't see this ad.

You are doing it right. Getting a mentor will speed up your learning by at least 10 years. It's not always easy to find a good mentor. You can find any common Joe who thinks they know a little bit about the market. Look for people who have been investing for more than 25 years. Also, look for people who made their money investing as opposed to signing up high profile clients (sales).

This would be ideal.

My favorite investor of all time is William Gann. The man was a genius and quite an investor. He once went to India and meditated on stocks. While meditating he realized some fundamental concepts about the market.