IM PSTP Residency as an MD student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

camnewton1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current MD student at a strong research oriented medical school, who's tentatively interest in pursuing a career as a physician scientist. Recently, I've been looking into PSTP training programs in Internal Medicine, and they seem like great programs with strong records of enabling trainees to attain independent (K awards) grants and transition to faculty positions.

I had two questions regarding these IM PSTP residency programs. 1) taking a look at "top" MSTP program match lists where available, it seems that the vast majority of MD-PhD graduates do not end up in IM PSTP trainings. Is this largely due to personal preference, or due to the small number of spots at PSTP residencies in general, or limitations in the way match lists are reported online? My gut tells me it's some combination of the three, but it's hard to get a sense of why this ends up being the case.

2) As an MD only student, I am curious if I will be in a position to be competitive applicant to these PSTP residency training programs by the time I'm a rising 4th year. It seems like some programs (ie UCLA) are more "friendly" in terms of taking MD only students with significant research experience from things like HHMI, NIH MSRP, etc. I anticipate taking a year of for research through a competitive fellowship, and I also anticipate having at least 2 first author basic/translation publications in strong field specific journals with strong letters of recommendation from PI. Would this be enough to be competitive for IM PSTP residencies?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.