I'm a CPhT and make $7.15/hr

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tommyVoltage

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been working at CVS for about 4-5 weeks and I only make $7.15 an hour. I'm a certified pharmacy technician and I still get paid this little amount. I need the experience in a pharmacy because I plan on applying to schools for admission in the Fall 2010 program, but I feel like I'm greatly underpaid.

What should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sure that they are paying you what everyone else in your area would get paid as a starting pharmacy tech. I started 3 years ago at 10 something and now am at $12.65 but this is Southern California where the cost of living is higher. You're getting paid less than minimum wage in CA actually.

I've been working at CVS for about 4-5 weeks and I only make $7.15 an hour. I'm a certified pharmacy technician and I still get paid this little amount. I need the experience in a pharmacy because I plan on applying to schools for admission in the Fall 2010 program, but I feel like I'm greatly underpaid.

What should I do?

Wow. That is very low. What area are you from? I'm from CA, and I used to work for Longs Drugs (about 1 year ago). As a pharmacy clerk, my starting salary was $9/hr. I wasn't even a certified tech or anything. My manager told me that the starting salary for an inexperienced certified tech at our place will start at $11/hr and move up w/ more experience.

That's good that you're getting some experience. But man, that wage really sucks, especially when you're certified already. You should definitely ask around other drugstores in your area to compare with other tech wages. Isn't $7.15 below minimum wage? Well, at least for CA it is.

Members don't see this ad :)

What should I do?

Switch jobs. Find another, and research the pay beforehand.