I have been a pharamcy technician for Walgreens since August, and I haven't gotten ANY better since?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

windspirit

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been a pharmacy technician at Walgreens since August. I am a freshmen in college, pre pharmacy, and I am 18 years old. And I feel really discouraged about my future because of my job. I literally feel like I have not gotten any better in the last few MONTHS. I feel so horrible at my job that, most of the time, i feel like I am such an annoying person to work with, a burden, and underqualified. I am something I NEVER thought I would be. I always thought I would be a great person to work with to hold her own weight. But I ask why to many questions, I mess up too many times for the time I've spent there, and I should be fired.
The worst part of this is that I was an intern for almost a YEAR before I was even hired!!!
In short, I was a high school intern at this same Walgreens and hired by a really friendly and professional pharamcist. However, I feel like he just hired me because he wanted to believe that I would be awesome, but now he regrets it because I am not turning out to be any good at all.
And I HATE feeling like that. A dissapointment. I used to work five hours once a week since august, but since the beginning of november, I've been working about 20 hours every two weeks (Some weeks I'd work the entire weekend, somedays only work 5 hours a weekend)