How to deal with EM anxiety

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rogerrabbit221

Reaction score
I need help. I have been practicing as an attending for about 3 years. I am working reasonable hours. I feel like the more I work, the more I second guess myself. I had a few bad cases and I've been even more stressed and anxious (and ashamed). I've heard people say the uncertainty gets better the more you practice, but for me, things are getting worse. I am cherry-picking lower acuity patients because I am just terrified of making a mistake and doing harm to the sicker patients or not knowing how to manage patients. I did not get held back or had major issues during residency. I am planning my exit from emergency medicine and will ideally be out of the field in the next few months. I have tried medications and therapy, but none of it really helps.

But I need to get through the next few months at my current job. Quitting today or tomorrow is not an option. I need to know how to move on and survive each shift. How do you deal with EM shift dread before and during the shifts? Youtube? Meditation? Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
Reactions: 3 users
Can you tell your boss the truth and get appropriate accommodations? If a colleague of mine was going to be leaving in the next few months, and there was a general request to have me see the sicker patients and leave some more of the fast track / urgent care stuff to the doc, I would accommodate that.

It sounds like you're making the right move by exiting EM. Sorry you had to go through this. I agree with others who have said it should get easier with time. If EM is not, then EM isnt for you.

Hard to know what to say in the meantime. Order a lot of tests, even if you think they are needless, and spend a lot of time talking to patients. They like that and will be less willing to say something bad about you or to sue.