How much time do you spend working outside of clinic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

unleash500

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been in fellowship for roughly a month now and I feel like I am spending a lot of time doing work outside of clinic on my own time. Eg I always prep the night before for clinic the next day. I understand that for part of this is because I am still learning oncology. Along with the prepping, I am also dealing with my in basket and answering patient messages. Is this the reality as an attending also? Do you find yourself taking a lot of work home?

Members don't see this ad.

I work a s**t-ton outside of clinic.

I also started fellowship a month ago, I am with you brother (or sister).

I'd be interested in more experienced answers, but I would imagine as an attending there while there are still lots of pages/inbox questions the prep work for clinic is lower because a) you know what you're doing, b) you know your patients better and c) you aren't having to prep every little detail of each case in case your attending asks :p

I work a s**t-ton outside of clinic.

I also started fellowship a month ago, I am with you brother (or sister).

I'd be interested in more experienced answers, but I would imagine as an attending there while there are still lots of pages/inbox questions the prep work for clinic is lower because a) you know what you're doing, b) you know your patients better and c) you aren't having to prep every little detail of each case in case your attending asks :p

It gets a lot easier and less time consuming

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)