how many drugs does an everyday anethesiologist need to know?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prominence

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
when i studied pharmacology, i remember the numerous amount of drugs that had to be studied. there were so many details to be learned: mechanisms of action, route of administraion, indications of uses, adverse effects, etc. i learned alot in that class, and i enjoyed it, but i didnt retain much of the material once the exams were over.

im wondering, what portion of the drugs studied in pharmacology is actually needed as an everyday anesthesiologist? i mean, obviously u need to know the anesthethics. but what other classes/categories of drugs do u need to know? do u also need to know ANS drugs, cardiovascular drugs, antineoplastic drugs, autoacoids, etc? is there a large number of drugs that u need to know to become an anesthesiologist (i.e. over 200)? could someone comment on this? thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

an everyday anesthesiologist has to have a running knowledge of two sets of drugs

1) all drugs related to anesthesia, analgesia, areflexia and amnesia, vasopressors/downers, ACLS-drugs, ICU drugs- these drugs need to be known down to the nitty gritty

2) all other drugs that patients may be on... you don't want to be taking care of somebody if you don't know what drugs are floating in their system, how they work and how they may interfere/interact with your anesthesia...

will you need to know everything about antineoplastic drugs? no, but there will still be some that are relevant: adriamycin, bleomycin, etc....

Originally posted by Tenesma
1) all drugs related to anesthesia, analgesia, areflexia and amnesia, vasopressors/downers, ACLS-drugs, ICU drugs- these drugs need to be known down to the nitty gritty

how many drugs would u estimate fit this category, if u had to throw out a number?

Members don't see this ad :)