How do you study organic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jetjesse

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional student that has been out of the loop for a while. The idea of studying organic again is very intimidating. Is there anybody out there that has successfully prepared for this subject after being "cold" on the it for a while? What were your respective scores? What are the best preparation materials and techniques?

By the way, this is one heck of a forum! I love it!

Members don't see this ad.

Repetition, repetition, and more repetition. Nothing is more beneficial than doing questions. The two best sources for you to have are Kaplan and Exam Kracker's 1001 Organic Chemistry Questions-----> www.examkrackers.com

If you feel you really must relearn the material, and Kaplan nor any other study guide works, go to the nearest school book store, or book store in general, and look for an inexpensive lesson book-----Schaum's Outline for example or Solomon's (from what I have heard this is a great book). Nonetheless, everyone on SDN will agree that Kaplan and Exam Krackers are the way to go.

I must agree about the 1001 examcrackers. I am on question 900 in the General Chemistry and have worked quite a bit of problems on the OCHEM examkrackers 1001 questions. I think the general chemsitry has some problems that you can obviosly skip, but for the most part, theyare relevant to the DAT and give you a firm grasp on the concept. SO far the Organic questions are GREAT. I recommend them both, but the OCHEM 1001 is a must have.

Thanks for the great advice!
By the way, are you guys memorizing the reactions or studying the mechanisms, too. How important are the mechanisms on the DAT.