How do I get exposure to Rad Onc while on 3rd year rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oncology2020

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How do I get exposure to rad onc? I'm on pediatrics and have to go in every day to the hospital and don't have time to shadow a rad onc. I doubt I'll have time to shadow during internal med and surgery. The earliest I can do an elective is in July. I wanted to do some research but dont want to waste my time doing research in rad onc if for whatever reason I decide not to do rad onc in the end. Soo confused on what I want to do...

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Sorry to hear about how long/tough the rotations might be! I can't say I'm a pro at it (currently a MS4), but there are a few ways you can start out:
- Try picking up peds onc cases - there's a good chance that radiation will be involved, and if there's a rad/onc consult, make sure you're there for the actual consult!
- Emails, lots of them - especially if you're looking for research. It's tough to get a day off as a MS3, but if you send the emails and are at the point of actually scheduling something, try to do it in the later afternoon, hopefully on a non-call day. That way, you can ask your team if you could take a couple hours out and come back to the Ward after, or if they'll let you go. Most of the time, if it's not crazy busy, you can be dismissed for it.

Saturdays and Sundays are tough to meet with Rad/Onc folks, and holidays likewise (I tried this during M2 winter break, and got nowhere).