General How do I decide if I should pursue PreMed/PrePA?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tantacles

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So I've posted on this site a few times before. I've mentally gone back and forth between just about every pre*insert profession in the healthcare field* possible, but now I think I'm truly settling on either applying to medical school or PA school. In my last post made I wasn't all that sure of the timeline of applying to PA/medical school, but I will put it out there that I intend on applying this upcoming year for entry in 2022. But I am unsure of which route would be best for me, honestly.

To begin with, I did pretty well in undergrad. I graduated with a 3.88 GPA with honors in the major (biology), however still have outstanding pre-requisites for both PA and medical school (biochemistry and A/P labs for some PA schools, and biochemistry, organic chemistry lab, and physics II for medical school). I am currently working on some of the pre-requisites for PA school (finished stats and am currently taking abnormal psych online through my undergrad institution), and am intending on taking A/P labs and biochemistry throughout the year pending COVID. I'm not too worried about how I'll do with the pre-PA perquisites, but I hated physics I (got a B) and would be worried about organic lab because its been so long since I've taken 1 (A) and 2 (B). Considering its already July, I need to figure out quickly whether or not to go ahead and finish the pre-reqs for PA school or med school. I also had a bunch of extra-curricular activities/research in undergrad, including marching band for three years, being a member of a band service fraternity, I was a TA for an undergraduate research program for two years, and I also did research on cardiovascular proteins for a year and carnivorous plants/microbiomes for another year and a half, which I received a grant for. Post-bacc, I worked for a year as