General How do I decide between areas of interest, MD, PhD, PsyD, NIH?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm very interested in topics centered on stroke rehabilitation, autism, alzheimer's and some neurotransmitter disorders. I'm also very interested in BCIs and fMRI, which I'm certain is another sector of study entirely (bioengineering vs. neuroscience). The pediatric connectome project sounds incredible to me, so do the CLARITY and DTI studies. I'm also very intimidated as, per my lurking, I'm discovering that this is one of the most difficult and technical cogsci/neuro specialties. Also, perhaps, one of the most competitive.

My dream job would be working with people with a range of neurocognitive concerns and improving their quality of life. I'm unable to determine whether I like lab work or not; I have no experience in a university lab. Hoping to change that very soon. I also live less than an hour away from DC and NIH/NIST. Hoping to intern there.

Compensation/lifestyle wise, money isn't a huge factor. I like what I hear about MD-PhD options... yah, quite the length of schooling, but that's fine. I'm also considering neuropsychology. I don't know what medical school has in store, neuroscience-wise, but that's my central focus. It seems that grad school would make more sense than medical school at this point, but I'm not ruling out MD/DO.

Anyway, I feel like this is a rather niche interest and I'd like to kick things off correctly. I'd also like to steer clear of math :D (stats is fine). Do you have any suggestions for activities in undergrad that will make me competitive in this area?

Thank you.
TBH, the most important thing for any of these paths is going to be a solid academic basis. If you don't have the grades, you're not going to be competitive for med school or grad school.