How competitive is pain fellowship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pablo94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an anesthesia resident at not a big name residency. How hard would it be to get into a pain fellowship? Is there no chance if I am not at a top tier residency? We do not have an in house pain fellowship.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I am an anesthesia resident at not a big name residency. How hard would it be to get into a pain fellowship? Is there no chance if I am not at a top tier residency? We do not have an in house pain fellowship.

Thanks
i found that it depended on your individual situation more than anything..

some weak candidates getting taken by their home program

some strong candidates sent to scramble all over the country because no home program and other programs filled by internal candidates for only a few spots..

it has the potential to be annoyingly difficult, apply broadly - its only a year

Members don't see this ad :)
What can I do to improve my chances? I am an intern this year and my program doesn't have many research opportunities.

Thank you

What can I do to improve my chances? I am an intern this year and my program doesn't have many research opportunities.

Thank you

Don't constantly try to screw over your co residents. Don't be lazy and show up late multiple times. Don't call out regularly. Don't get into multiple fights with staff, residents or attendings. Don't use illicit drugs on call. Don't be arrested for fighting with the police while drunk. Don't be found down on call.

• Haha
Reactions: 6 users

Thank you

Do the basics well. Try to go to meetings, publish a case report or two. Do well on your pain rotation, meaning read a lot and look smart. Apply broadly.

Thank you